ABC’s of Writing: A is Also for Advice


ABC’s of Writing, Matilda Butler, Post #11



A Funny Thing Happened in the Way to This Post
More than a month ago, Monday December 20th to be precise, I was on this website preparing my post for that day. I had it ready to publish when I got distracted. That was the day before we took possession of our new home in Corvallis and we needed to be at the home for a final walk through with the previous owners. I dashed out the door and must have consigned this post to the category of finished tasks. To be honest, I didn’t think about it again until last week when I was on the site writing about Susan Wittig Albert’s upcoming post about journaling that would appear on our site the following day. That’s when I saw that I had a draft post. I looked at it and found what you see below.

Today, I decided to come back to this post and publish it even though our holiday greeting and thanks to SCN now had to be given a “belated” emphasis. Why not just skip this post? I want to share with you a brief video that I did based on advice for writers from Virginia Woolf and Stephen King. You can follow the link from the text below.

Thanks. I promise that I won’t be so distracted this year.

Virginia Woolf and Stephen King Agree

Last week in my post, I shared Susan J. Tweit’s interview about her first venture into self-publishing, an audio of 28 vignettes. I thought my title was just right: A is for Audio. In the back of my mind, I thought I’d find a B is for xxx this week. Instead, I find myself still with an A.

When Kendra and I teach, we notice that many women do not have the tools for writing their stories. Sure, they know what they want to write about. Sure, they know they need to devote time to their writing. But they don’t necessarily consider their writing important enough to merit the important tools. Some use a husband’s computer when it is available. Some use the kitchen table for writing but then move everything so that the family can eat dinner. The list goes on. You may be one of those people. If so, the video that I have posted on Women’s Memoirs may just be the encouragement to start taking care of your needs for a writing life.

Perhaps you already have a computer and a room dedicated to your writing. Many don’t, so you are to be congratulated. But even you will find the advice about the importance of truth in story (whether you are writing memoir or fiction) to be just the spark that gets you back to writing.

Be sure to check out the advice from Virginia Woolf and Stephen King — an unlikely pair.

A Belated Holiday Wish
Kendra Bonnett and I wish you a wonderful holiday season and hope that 2011 finds you actively engaged in your writing life. In particular, we’d like to thank Story Circle Network for all that it does to support women in reaching our writing goals.

Leave a Reply

