Making it home


I’ve always known the word chaos. It’s the word that describes my life the last two weeks. But today, I created (I think) a new word—chaos-ier. Because that’s what it’s getting to be.

We did roll out early the morning after my last entry. We made the 700 plus miles across five states with nothing but boredom—until we pulled up on Saturday about noon. “Let’s get unloaded so we can turn this baby in.”  Chaos began. Unload. Unpack. But wait. Pack. We’d partially furnished the house with thrift shop purchases while our “real” furniture waited in Georgia, and now, the Mayflower truck the real stuff was due to roll up soon. I found a charity with pick-up service. Out went the dining room furniture, the bedside tables, the guest room bed. You get the idea. We cleaned. We vacuumed. We ate on TV trays. Sort of Bohemian. We thought about all those boxes, about forty boxes of books on that big truck, not to mention the twenty or so we brought with us. They’d have to go somewhere. That’s why the guest room bed went.

We don’t have a guest room anymore. We have a library. Ikea made it easy. We bought twelve bookcases in about twenty minutes. They came out the next morning. Of course, since they were from Ikea, they weren’t assembled. Over the next two days, Bob (my hero) assembled them all. Three in my study, two in the kitchen, seven in the “library.” I unpacked books right behind him.

Then our daughter, who has innate supervisory skills that she has honed over her lifetime, arrived. The Mayflower truck was not far behind. Katy took charge. “It’s ok, Mom. You can go to the bathroom when you’ve unpacked two more boxes.”

Today, it came to a head. We got up before 6:00 and hit the boxes. At 10:00 we stopped for showers, dressed in our grown-up girl clothes and headed out for a luncheon of like-minded women at the Intercontinental Hotel. (Rats, we didn’t take a picture of that.) Then, enough of fun and games.

“We need to make it look like home. Let’s hang the pictures.” That’s what I’m hiding from right now. My life is getting chaosier and chaosier.  Let me show you:

"Hmm. Let's see. B goes into A. And after this one, only nine more to go."

Waiting for the truck and our own dining room table.

Boss Katy. A super supervisor who pulls her share of the load.

Hmm. I'd forgotten this one. Maybe I should take a minute...no!

Bookshelves make a nice bureau substitute for Katy who is camping in the new library.

 

 

8 responses to “Making it home

  1. Trilla, you’re scaring me! We are about to set up a new home base that is 1500 miles away, and possibly sell the home we’re in, and I have all that ahead of me! And I’m old and infirm! How will I ever do it? Please tell me what you learned that can help me, i.e. what you did that made it feel less “chaosy” than it could have, been, and what you would do differently if you (horror of horrors!) had to do it over again. Maybe other readers of this blog would care to share their secrets for non-chaosy moving. Thank you.

  2. The good news is that we’re about done. What I would do differently–this hurts–let go of more first. Be hard. And get the kids to commit. No “let me think about it.” In the last hour, my son saw the old radio-record player-circe 1945–draped for a Goodwill pickup and suddenly realized that he can’t live without it. Tell ‘em “now or never” and then give it away.

  3. Thanks. I know that is going to be really hard. Also thanks for mentioning Ikea as a good place from which to order new furnishings. I am just going to have to “jump in slowly,” possibly a contradiction of terms, but that’s the only way I can deal with it . . . to start decluttering and recycling as soon as possible, so I won’t have to do it all at once. I’m glad to hear that you’re about done! Enjoy your new surroundings!

  4. Loving every minute. It’s good to be where I should be.

  5. Trilla, I love the photo of you sitting and reading while unpacking. That is me to a “T”! Lovely house, I’m sure you all will be happy there.

  6. We’re very happy, Khadijah! Wish you were here to come over for a ‘reading date.’

  7. Trilla, I missed the first part of the saga. Where are you now? Congratulations on surviving the chaos and then the chaosier. It’ll get easier, really it will (easy for me to say, but I did move my parents four times in the past ten years, so I know a lot about downsizing, packing, organizing, and unpacking…). Samantha, Downsizing and de-cluttering is key. As Trilla said, be ruthless: if you don’t love it and the kids won’t commit, out it goes! Also, you can hire assistants or handy-people to help: ask at your local eldercare agency if they have a list of agencies that supply non-medical daily help. We did that with my folk’s last two moves and it was great to have the help!

  8. Susan, thank you for that suggestion . . . I had forgotten all about the services of the Council on Aging, and that I am plenty old enough to avail myself of them! I was wondering who would move all the stuff out of the house . . . .I’ll call them for help with that. I am very eager to declutter and downsize, but the prospect alone overwhelms me! I’ll get some help with that. (What would I do without the internet, and we women who network!)

Leave a Reply

